The candidates for the FIFA Qatar World Cup 2022 golden boot winners are listed below as they advance to the knockout stages.

The knockout stage of the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup is quickly approaching. The Golden Boot, given to the player with the most goals during the competition, is one of the main awards for which players vie. In the event of a tie for most goals scored, a player’s total assists are taken into account. If there is a tie on both counts, the person who played the fewest minutes wins. At the 2018 World Cup in Russia, England captain Harry Kane won the award after scoring six goals and guiding his squad to the semifinals.

Spain’s Alvaro Morata (3)

The Atletico Madrid striker scored once against the 2014 world champions Germany while on the bench in Spain’s Group E match. In Spain’s 7-0 thrashing of Costa Rica, Morata, who had been replaced in the starting lineup by Marco Asensio in his team’s previous two World Cup contests, assisted on the fifth goal and scored one of his own to cap a one-sided opening. In their last group match, he gave Luis Enrique’s squad the lead, but the 2010 champions were defeated as Japan pulled off their second spectacular comeback of the competition to advance to the round of 16.

France’s Kylian Mbappe (3)

The talisman of France was unable to score as Tunisia famously beat Les Bleus in their final Group D game. The 23-year-old scored against Australia in his team’s opening match then scored twice against Denmark in the second half to secure France’s place in the round of 16. As his nation faces Poland in the round of 16, he could add to that. Robert Lewandowski, the all-time leading scorer for Poland, will also be aiming to increase his lone goal total.

Engl. Marcus Rashford (3)

The England striker is off to a fantastic World Cup start in Qatar. Due to his form and fitness a few months ago, Rashford’s spot in the team was in doubt, but the Manchester United attacker shot up FIFA Qatar World Cup 2022 golden boot standings after scoring twice in England’s defeat of a Gareth Bale-led Wales team. During the group stage, Rashford’s teammates Phil Foden, Jack Grealish (both from Manchester City), Bukayo Saka (from Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (from Chelsea), and Jude Bellingham (from Borussia Dortmund) also contributed goals.

Netherlands native Cody Gakpo (3)

The Netherlands advanced to the round of 16 after winning Group A, and the Dutch forward has been successful in scoring frequently so far in Qatar. The 23-year-old Gakpo has played a key role in helping PSV Eindhoven advance to the Europa League knockout rounds, and prominent European teams are reportedly fighting for his signature when the transfer window opens in the summer of 2019.

 Leo Messi of Argentina (3)

The talented player from Argentina is taking part in what he has stated is likely his final World Cup. The 35-year-old scored his first goal from the penalty spot in a shocking Group C defeat to Saudi Arabia before scoring and setting up Enzo Fernandez in a stirring victory over Mexico. Fans around the world would like to see the seven-time Ballon d’Or winner deliver a much-anticipated World Cup for his nation this time around despite having a trophy-laden club and personal career. Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal, Messi’s arch-rival, will also be vying for the Golden Boot after scoring against Ghana in their Group H opening to become the first player to score in five World Cups.

Spain’s Bruno Fernandes (3)

At this point in the World Cup in Qatar, the turmoil surrounding Cristiano Ronaldo and his contentious split from Manchester United has overshadowed Portugal’s performance. However, 28-year-old Bruno Fernandes, who has long been his famous teammate’s understudy, emerged from Ronaldo’s shadow by scoring twice against Uruguay. Earlier, he assisted on two goals that Portugal scored in a 3-2 victory over Ghana.